The results of the 2004 AOSA have been announced.

AUUG is proud to announce the Third Annual Australian Open Source Awards. These awards are intended to encourage and recognise the excellence, dedication and contribution of Australians working in the open source arena.

AUUG members may nominate any Australian citizen or resident in any of three categories:

  1. Technology

    Awarded for open source work that provides technology or programming infrastructure, such as operating systems, programming languages and compilers, or database systems.

  2. Application

    Awarded for open source work that is focused on solving a particular problem, or is for use by end users rather than system builders. Examples include email clients, text processing systems, web browsers, or maybe a program that carries out a complex scientific calculation.

  3. Community

    Awarded for a significant contribution to the open source community. This could be by publicising open source, making open source more acceptable to business, encouraging communication and cooperation between open source developers, or any other activity that makes it easier for open source code to be developed.

The awards will be given for a particular piece of work, that must be complete and, in the case of the Technology and Application awards, must be available on the Internet and in general use.

AUUG encourages members to nominate worthy recipients for these awards. Please email all nominations to Nominations for 2004 are closed.

AUUG would like to especially acknowledge the contribution of Patryk Zadarnowski for originating the idea of the awards, and the generous sponsorship of Silicon Breeze/Linux Jewellery for providing the unique and coveted trophies.

Winners 2004.
Winners 2003.
Winners 2002.